DeJohn Funeral Homes and Crematory
Call 24 hours: (440) 516-5555

Ross & Carmella DeJohn Memorial Scholarship

DeJohn Funeral Homes & Crematory is now accepting applications for the 2019 Ross Sr. & Carmella DeJohn Memorial Scholarship.

Students that demonstrate the ideals of passion, respect and organization will be eligible for the Ross Sr. & Carmella DeJohn Memorial Scholarship.

“With the loss of Ross Sr. and Carmella last year, we wanted to honor their memory by expanding our scholarship program.It should be noted that the scholarship has increased from $500 each student to $750 each student for his or her college tuition or books.We know there are many talented young men and women in our community that deserve recognition,” said Ross DeJohn Jr., Chief Executive Officer for DeJohn Funeral Homes.

In 2017, the Ross Sr. & Carmella DeJohn Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Stephen Blauch of Chardon High School (attending Ohio State University, Engineering); Garrett Scolos of Kenston High School (attending University of Virginia, Public Health/Pre Med); Marilyn Moyer of Mentor High School (attending University of Findlay, Animal Sciences/Pre Vet Medicine); Courtney Favazzo of Mayfield High School (attending Ohio Northern University, Pharmacy); and Erin Ward of Lake Catholic High School (Westminister College, Biology).

In 1993 the DeJohn family, in conjunction with the family owned funeral home, established the scholarship in honor of Ross (Sr) and Carmella’s dedication to education. Ross Sr. served, as Mayor of Mayfield Heights for over 28 years and during that time was very supportive of all school related issues including support for many school levies.  More than $35,000 in scholarships has been awarded to deserving high school seniors living in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties.

Students may apply for the Ross Sr. & Carmella DeJohn Memorial Scholarship by downloading and completing the online scholarship application and submitting it by email to or in person at the Willoughby Hills funeral home by March 15, 2019.